Canton Historical Commission

Protecting and Preserving Canton's History


The Canton Historical Commission is established under Section 8d of Chapter 40 of the Massachusetts General Laws.  The Historical Commission is the official town agent of municipal government responsible for community-wide historic preservation planning. The Commission's duty is to identify, protect, and preserve Canton's properties and sites that are of historic significance.

The Historical Commission works in cooperation with other municipal agencies, such as the Select Board, Planning Board, Zoning Board of Appeals, Conservation Commission, Community Preservation Committee, and the Building Inspector to insure that the goals of historic preservation are considered in the planning and future development of the Town of Canton.


The commission consists of 7 members appointed to 3-year terms by the Select
Board. The current members are:
  • Sepp Bergschneider
  • Gerald Carmichael
  • George T. Comeau
  • Emily Prigot
  • Kathleen Keith
  • Paul Mitcheroney
  • Michael Nourse
The Commission meets on the third Thursday of each month, at 7:30 p.m. at:

Pequitside Farm
79 Pleasant St.
Canton, MA 02021