Community Preservation Committee


  • C. David Emhardt, Capital Planning Committee Designee
  • John McSweeney - Co-Chair, Housing Authority Designee
  • Alison Grossman, Parks & Recreation Commission Designee
  • George Comeau - Clerk, Historical Commission Designee
  • Thomas Theodore, Select Board Designee
  • Melissa Mayer, Conservation Commission Designee
  • David McCarthy, Planning Board Designee
  • Kendall O'Halloran, School Committee Designee
  • John Leonetti, Community "at-large" Designee
For more information please email or see the CCPC website

Mission and Goals

The Canton Community Preservation Committee is a nine-member, volunteer committee responsible for evaluating the Town's needs in each of the three categories supported by the Community Preservation Act (historical resource, open space/recreation, community housing) and for making recommendations to Town Meeting on how CPA funds should be spent.  Please see the committee website for more information.  
Volunteer Opportunities

 There are currently no openings on this committee.  Eight of the nine members on this committee are designees of other Town committees as identified by local bylaw establishing this committee.  The remaining member will be an at-large member appointed by the Select Board.  The at-large member should have a demonstrated expertise in at least one of the three CPA funding areas.  

All terms last 3 years and are appointed by the Select

Committee Website